Tags

, ,

the library Beast gave to Belle.

With a dreamy far off look & her nose stuck in a book” was sang by the good townsfolk in Disney’s Beauty & the Beast about Belle and I’ve always identified with it 🙂 It describes me & my love for the worlds created by words in a good book so well.  Mummy used to get so irritated by my obsession as a child. She never understood it. But being me it was the best abandon and diversion from reality that I could afford. One Nailantei Kenga noticed my passion & asked to feature me in True Love’s True Read section and I was chuffed! Here is the interview in full:

What are you currently reading?

I’m reading “Reminiscences of a stock Operator” by Edwin Lefèvre a loose biography on a stock trader at the turn of the 20th century: Jesse Livermore. It’s not a book I’d typically read but my chairman Jimnah Mbaru recommended it from his own library in order to give me timeless insights into market speculation, manipulation & appreciation. Also, I’ve been in the long process of trying to get through Emily Brontë’s “Wuthering Heights” over the last few months. It’s just too dark, emotionally tormenting and unstable (typical of gothic tales) to complete. Quite spending, and for an insatiable reader like me it has been torture as I have to finish it!

Do you buy or borrow books?

When it comes to books anything goes! I buy, borrow, find, and get them as gifts from people who understand my passion for them. I even get them as keepsakes from friends/family leaving (in order to have something special to remember them by). One of my hobbies is buying books from the street vendors all over the city. They have so many amazing selections! Gold mines!

Which book would you recommend to book lovers?

“One Thousand and One Nights” or “Alf Leyla wa Leyla” in Arabic: an anthology of old Middle Eastern fantasy tales. It’s about a newly wed Persian queen who uses her feminine wiles to outwit the ruthless king and his ritual of beheading his new wife each dawn. Every night she starts a story that engrosses him then leaves him in suspense at dawn. His curiosity to hear the end buys her another day to live & she does this for 1001 nights until the King realizes he’s fallen in love with her & stops his ritual for good. “Aladdin”, “the adventures of Sinbad the Sailor” and “Ali Baba & the 40 Thieves” are some of the famous “Arabian Nights” stories featured.

Where do you find time to read with your busy schedule?

Reading comes naturally to me so I never have to worry about not having time to. It just happens. When I’m in bed before I sleep, when I’m on my way somewhere or waiting for someone I always have my nose buried in a book or other. I’m always invested in the worlds beyond the pages.

What genre of books are you mostly drawn to?

I have a very eclectic palate when it comes to my taste in books. Being the kind of lass that lives in her head however, I seem to have a higher affinity for genres that facilitate that. Fantasy, fairy tales, fiction & epic tales. I like to think I have the same taste as the amazing Tim Burton!

Who are your favorite authors and why?

Paulo Coelho for his intimate comprehension of the human soul, emotions and the revelations we go through. I especially love the finesse and flair of his delivery. He is the most quotable writer I’ve had the pleasure of reading. His words are profound, powerful and pure. I love him.

J.K. Rowling for the depth and scope of her enchanting imagination. She managed to create an occult realm that captivated the entire world! I find her unmatched when it comes to penning intricate sub- plots and story development.

Dr. Seuss because his whimsical, zany and ridiculous rhyming style is right up my alley! Must be because we are both Pisceans and share the ENFP personality

What is your favorite quote?

At the moment it has to be “Only the shallow know themselves” by Oscar Wilde.

What are your all time favorite books?

“Eleven Minutes” by Paulo Coelho. The book reveals a few truths about human beings that have since changed my outlook on life & relations. Like I said, he is a powerful writer.

What are your plans for Valentines Day?

I wouldn’t mind a sundowner on the Tamarind Dhow with a charming someone, but we shall see what the universe has in store for me.

I just love books. they are magical! What other way can I manage to transport to different times, places and dimensions or assume different personalities than through reading?

